Out With the Old and Into My Mothers Closet

Facebook-20140914-034523I’ve been putting away my summer clothes recently and getting out my fall/winter wardrobe. This is a very long project that takes days to accomplish for me. But I love every minute at it is almost like shopping as I find all of the items I bought long ago and forgot about.  A couple of weeks ago,I worked on pants, blouses, skirts and blazers. I ended up taking a couple of large bags full of items that I hadn’t worn in years and have no intention of wearing in the near future up to my mother. Yesterday I did long sleeve shirts and sweaters. Today I did my shoes. I have another large bag full to take to my mother. She enjoys getting my hand-me-downs. She will keep what she likes and donate the rest. I am lucky that my mother is a fashionista too and that we wear similar sizes in everything except bras and shoes. She is different from me though. She is an avid resale shopper whereas I prefer new duds. She gets her thrills from finding trendy items for just pennies. She has also been known to save her favorite items for 10-30 years waiting for them to come back in style.  I give her a lot of credit for some of her finds. Check some recents out below.

This real mink and leather coat she found recently at a resale shop for $12.

This real mink and leather coat she found recently at a resale shop for $12.

Check out these Ray Bans that she found at the same resale place  (2 years apart)for $0.50 a pair.  The pair on the bottom was a limited edition valued over $250.

Check out these Ray Bans that she found at the same resale place (2 years apart)for $0.50 a pair. The pair on the bottom was a limited edition valued over $250.

I told Mom that Aztec print cardigans were In style and she dug this one out.

I told Mom that Aztec print cardigans were In style and she dug this one out.

This is an old but classic cable knit she dug out of her sweater collection...always in style it seems.

This is an old but classic cable knit she dug out of her sweater collection…always in style it seems.

Mom saw that cobalt colored fashions were in this fall on jseverdayfashion.com.  She pulled these items out.  The coat was found on a spring clearance rack for $5 at Kmart a couple years ago.  The skinny jeans are black with splashes of cobalt and are from Shopko for $7.

Mom saw that cobalt colored fashions were in this fall on jseverdayfashion.com. She pulled these items out. The coat was found on a spring clearance rack for $5 at Kmart a couple years ago. The skinny jeans are black with splashes of cobalt and are from Shopko for $7.

Nostalgic 20 year old wool hand made sweater that she has held on to since I was in high school.

Nostalgic 20 year old wool hand made sweater that she has held on to since I was in high school.

I told mom mustard was in so she took a picture of this classic cable knit cardigan that she picked up for $3.

I told mom mustard was in so she took a picture of this classic cable knit cardigan that she picked up for $3.

Etienne Aigner got for $1 and is probably worth hundreds.

She found this resale beauty (an Etienne Aigner) for $1 and is probably worth hundreds.

 

Leave a Reply

